These forums are archived

See this post for further info

get_iplayer forums

Forum archived. Posting disabled.

Re: Failed to download programme schedule on ZorinOS

user-2524

Someone decided they wanted to lock my thread and ban me  because I don't know how to use a non-Windows Operating System. Why do that? Tell me precisely what you think I did to deserve that; what rule or rules you think I broke to have that happen. I am trying to find help here. I said I am new to ZorinOS, and I am seeking help with things.

Apparently, the version of get_iplayer I have is old. How can I update it? I have tried get_iplayer --update, but it tells me

Code:
ERROR: get_iplayer was installed using the 'apt' package manager.  Please refer to the package manager documentation.

so I tried apt get_iplayer --update but that told me

Code:
E: Command line option --update is not understood in combination with the other options

so I am at a loss. How can I get this problem fixed?

user-1893

Unusually for Linux, the correct procedure is to download from the web-site.

Version should be 3.25.

I recommend the manual procedure, which doesn't involve any compilations.
The instructions are excellent.

You probably didn't read the FAQ.
Banning seems a bit excessive.

user-2524

(12-02-2020, 11:32 PM)Unusually for Linux, the correct procedure is to download from the web-site.

Version should be 3.25.

I recommend the manual procedure, which doesn't involve any compilations.
The instructions are excellent.
Thank you. I presume that is on github or here on squarepenguin.

user-2524

(12-02-2020, 11:32 PM)You probably didn't read the FAQ.
Banning seems a bit excessive.
As I said, I checked online and found this forum, which is about get_iplayer. With the layout of the forum, seeing the recent threads, I thought others were in this subforum. The mods/admins are drunk on power and need to get a life. The point of having forums is to help people, not to be a dic-ensian dic-tator.