These forums are archived

See this post for further info

get_iplayer forums

Forum archived. Posting disabled.

Slow down and file name change.

user-511

I have been using get_iplayer on a daily basis since July 2013. My preference is for speech programs from R4 and R4 extra. This has worked really well until yesterday and today when the download speed was a 20th of the normal speed. (Web access was normal for browsing and other downloads.) Also the previous default file of .m4a was not used, instead it is now .wma

Have I inadvertently changed something? Or perhaps the fact I am still using Windows XP has caught up with me?

I have tried on both Chrome and Firefox with the same result on both.

I would welcome suggestions as to what is happening.

Tony

user-30

Your issue seems related to this thread:

/topic...ma-format/

There do seem to be a larger than usual number of problems with radio downloads at the moment so have a read through and see if this is what you are experiencing.

Time and perseverance might be the best remedies for the moment though.

user-511

Thanks, comfortable to know I was not alone……
Two full days of getting .wma files in ‘real time’ however back ‘as normal’ this morning.

I would like get_iplayer to download the files that arrived as .wma’s again but this time as .m4a. If I attempt this I get the message ‘recording complete’ even though the already recorded file has been removed from the default download area.

I assume get_iplayer keeps a log of what it has downloaded. Is it possible to get at and edit this file so that selected downloads can be done again? (I am well within the 7 days allowed for downloads.)

Tony

user-30

This one is easy to fix. Just append the command
Code:
--force
to whatever command you use to download the shows.

You can stick it anywhere, front middle or end, as long as it go in somewhere it will tell get_iplayer to ignore the download history and allow you to re-download a show that you already have.