These forums are archived

See this post for further info

get_iplayer forums

Forum archived. Posting disabled.

mkdir errors

user-1780

I had get_iplayer working perfectly until I changed the download dir permanently. I am getting the following error:

ERROR: Could not create dir '/media/Radio Shows 1/2 - Radio Shows': mkdir /media: Permission denied at /usr/local/bin/get_iplayer line 3369.
RichardleysiMac:~ pixelart$  

Is there anyway I can completely uninstall everything and start over again. I have searched but can't find any info on uninstalling get_iplayer from my Mac

Thanks,
Richard

user-2

Do the words '/media: Permission denied' not suggest a initial avenue of inquiry to you?

user-1780

(05-05-2017, 10:54 AM)Do the words '/media: Permission denied' not suggest a initial avenue of inquiry to you?

Sorry they don't I'm completely new to get_iplayer and the Mac Terminal after using Get iPlayer Automator for the past two years which was much easier to use but has now ceased to function. I did try setting a new permanent dir on my mac with permissions set but that doesn't work either. That is why I asked if it is possible to completely uninstall get_iplayer and all associated files so that I could do a fresh install.

user-2

Re-installing get_iplayer will have no effect, so don't waste any effort on that.

user-1780

(05-05-2017, 11:12 AM)Re-installing get_iplayer will have no effect, so don't waste any effort on that.
So is there anyway to set the path back to default?

user-2

Delete it from your preferences

user-1780

(05-05-2017, 11:19 AM)Delete it from your preferences
Sorry I'm completely new to all this - which preferences and where is it?

user-1780

Sorry I'm completely new to all this - which preferences and where is it?
[/quote]
Don't bother figured it out.

user-1786

I get this exact same error. How do I get permission?

Thanks

user-2

It may not be exactly the same. What is the path you are trying to use for your output directory?