These forums are archived

See this post for further info

get_iplayer forums

Forum archived. Posting disabled.

Where do I find the Get_iplayer?

user-5

I'm new to Linux, and very pleased with the instructions for installing the Get_iplayer.
Everything seemed to work okay, but how can I open it?

user-30

Have you also had a look at the usage guides? They tell you how to download programmes and set the PVR etc as well as giving you dozens of example commands to copy and paste to get you started.

These guides will effectively show you how to 'open' get_iplayer as you put it, though as get_iplayer is a Command Line application it would be more accurate to say the guide will show you how to 'run' get_iplayer.

get_iplayer beginners guides

user-7

Open a terminal and enter

Code:
get_iplayer

To fetch a tv program, just an EG

Code:
get_iplayer --get 123

user-5

Thank you,
I remember I used get_iplayer to download:
Wallander_The_Fifth_Woman_Episode_1_b01m2fkb_1372351427_mobile.wmv
on july 2nd, I followed directions from another site,
that gave step-by-step instructions.
And it worked, but when I want to play the file, it wants to open in Windows Media Player,
which I don't have, to get the rights. Or something.

user-13

A wmv file!
That sounds more like iPlayer rather than get_iplayer although I only grab the mp4s (flashhd or flashvhigh) myself. I'm not very mobile so never mess with any other types (lower resolutions). I don't even own a mobile phone.
What was the site with the step by step instructions?

user-5

851 Wrote:A wmv file!<br>
That sounds more like iPlayer rather than get_iplayer although I only grab the mp4s (flashhd or flashvhigh) myself. I’m not very mobile so never mess with any other types (lower resolutions). I don’t even own a mobile phone.<br>
What was the site with the step by step instructions?

I'm aware of the existence of mobile phones, but don't own or ever used one. :)

It definitely was Get_iplayer.
Luckily, I bookmarked the page: